Publisher profile · Hybrid publisher

Atmosphere Press

Public deal terms, explained. Read the cited company statements alongside the contract you are offered.

Last verified: 2026-09-07Official source review: 7 September 2026. Company statements are not an independent audit; undisclosed contract details remain unknown.
How much does it cost?
What do I receive?
Percentage of what?
What rights do I retain?
Author retains 100% ownership rights Source: Publishing packages
Can I inspect the contract?
Public contract available
How is it distributed?
Global print and ebook distribution; ISBN included Source: Publishing packages

What the company offers

Publishing model
Hybrid publisher Source: Publishing packages
Country
Not publicly disclosed
Categories
Not publicly disclosed

Cost and what is included

Upfront investment
$7,200–$29,700 Source: Publishing packages
Packages
Essential $7,200; Flagship $14,700; Enterprise $29,700 Source: Publishing packages

How royalties actually work

Headline terms
90% of net sales Source: Publishing packages
Royalty basis
Net sales Source: Publishing packages
Print royalty
90% of net sales Source: Publishing packages
Ebook royalty
90% of net sales Source: Publishing packages

Retailer discounts, printing, distribution fees and returns can change the amount behind a percentage. Calculate earnings from your actual offer.

Rights and contract

Ownership statement
Author retains 100% ownership rights Source: Publishing packages
Copyright
Author retains rights, according to the package page Source: Publishing packages
Publishing license
Not publicly disclosed
Contract duration
Not publicly disclosed
Rights reversion
Not publicly disclosed
ISBN ownership
Not publicly disclosed

Public contract: Public document linked in sources; confirm the current version.

Distribution

Distribution
Global print and ebook distribution; ISBN included Source: Publishing packages
Bookstore sales representation
Not clearly disclosed as a traditional sales-rep relationship on the pricing page Source: Publishing packages

Editing and production

Editing
Two editorial meetings and two proofreading rounds in Essential Source: Publishing packages
Cover design
Custom cover and interior design Source: Publishing packages
Estimated timeline
Typically 6–9 months Source: Publishing packages
Selection process
Yes — manuscripts are reviewed before an offer Source: Publishing packages

Marketing

Deliverables
Package-specific marketing and promotion; higher tiers add reviews, ads, publicity and other launch support Source: Publishing packages
Things to clarify before signing'90% of net sales' is not the same as 90% of list price. Model actual per-copy earnings before comparing offers.

Request the exact royalty calculation, an itemized scope, termination and reversion clauses, and a written description of sales representation.

Who it may suit

Authors who want an all-in hybrid package with public pricing and a public contract. This is an editorial interpretation of the model, not a recommendation or promised outcome.

Compare alternatives